Optimism in Srinagar Loksabha Constituency voting, cover story 13 May 2023 issue


Optimism in Srinagar Loksabha voting
Farzana Mumtaz/ Rameez Makhdoomi
On 13 May, 2024
At Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency the voting had started on a promising note ,with the last turnout being surpassed at 11am  in morning.
Heavy to moderate turnout was witnessed in polling booths across.
At Sultan Molalla Merbehari at around 12 :15 in morning out of  739 total votes 387 were cast, with 243 males and 144 votes cast.
At 11:45 at Koli Mohalla Buddal Merbehari  755 votes were assigned  356 votes were cast 243 Male  female 113  .
Mohammad Amin a voter here Said that justice is biggest issue of voters here.
The civic issues are also  in mind when voting .
As a matter of fact, Kashmir’s Srinagar parliamentary seat which went  for  Lok Sabha polls ,  It was the first election that the  Himalayan valley was   witnessing since the abrogation of region’s special status in August 2019.
Smiling voters exchanged greetings with the deployed masses,  troopers while casting votes .
In some instances the voting turnout was although dull, at Historic Batmaloo polling booth just 47 votes were cast out of 434 till 2 pm.
Voters Enthusiasm seen across Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency, with brisk to moderate polling,and voters vocal about their burning issues .
Lok Sabha Elections 2024 (Phase 4) VOTER TURNOUT
PC – Srinagar
Preliminary Update (from ECI) till: 7 pm
Central Shalteng – 24.76 percent
Chadoora – 46.60 percent
Charar-e-Shareef – 53.23 percent
Channapora – 22.97 percent
Eidgah – 25.68 percent
Ganderbal – 46.81 percent
Habba Kadal – 13.25 percent
Hazratbal – 26.28 percent
Kangan (ST) – 55.55 percent
Khan Sahib – 48.50 percent
Khanyar – 23.06 percent
Lal Chowk – 26.01 percent
Pampore – 38.10 percent
Pulwama – 39.25 percent
Rajpora – 42.80 percent
Shopian – 45.04 percent
Tral – 37.52 percent
Zadibal – 27.52 percent
Overall: 38.3percent was revealed finally .
There are 24 candidates in the fray in this constituency although the main contest is between Syed Ruhullah Mehdi of the National Conference (NC), Waheed ur Rehman Parra of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Mohd Ashraf Mir of the J&K Apni Party.
In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the total turnout for the seat was around 14.43 per cent, while in 2014, it was 25.86 per cent.
The issue of hiked electricity bills was also on mind .
This time, there was significant increase in turnout in most of the assembly segments of the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat.
Whatever would be the final result the voting numbers are impressive, perhaps expectation would have been bit more.