Baramulla Loksabha Constituency Profile, 6 May 2024 cover story

Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency profile
Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency is one of the five Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir . The prestigious seat of Baramulla  loksabha constituency has over 17.28 lac voters registered with 8.7 lac males and 8.5 lac females. There are 33 transgenders registered as well
After the Delimitation, New Assembly segments in the Baramulla Loksabha Constituency are :
AC No. AC Name District
1 Karnah Kupwara
2 Trehgam
3 Kupwara
4 Lolab
5 Handwara
6 Langate
7 Sopore Baramulla
8 Rafiabad
9 Uri
10 Baramulla
11 Gulmarg
12 Wagoora-Kreeri
13 Pattan
14 Sonawari Bandipora
15 Bandipora
16 Gurez (ST)
27 Budgam Budgam
28 Beerwah.
The previous election on the seat was won by Mohammad Akbar Lone of Jammu and Kashmir National Conference.
As a matter of fact, The number of assembly constituencies in Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency increased from 15 to 18 after J&K’s delimitation in 2022. The delimitation exercise, which was necessitated by J&K Reorganisation Act 2019, increased the number of assembly seats in Jammu and Kashmir from 83 to 90.
Pertinently, the last date for filling of nomination papers to contest Lok Sabha elections 2024 for 1-Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency was 3rd of May till 3 PM.
The contest on the constituency is quite stiff.
People’s Conference president Sajad Gani Lone on Wednesday , 1 May, 2024 filed nomination papers from the Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmir.
Jailed Awami Ittehad Party leader Abdul Rashid Sheikh alias Engineer Rashid has already filed nomination papers from this north Kashmir constituency.
It is worth mentioning here that National Conference vice president Omar Abdullah filed his nomination papers for the Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmi on Thursday, May 02, 2024.
Accompanied by NC’s treasurer Shammi Oberoi and senior vice president of Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee G N Monga, Abdullah filed the nomination papers before Baramulla Deputy Commissioner Minga Sherpa, who is the returning officer of the constituency.
The main contest is between Omar Abdullah and Sajad Gani Lone.
PDP has fielded Fayaz Mir from the constituency.
Expert pulse is that The support bases of Sajad, Fayaz and Rashid, who is popularly known as Engineer Rashid, are mainly centred on Kupwara district, where they would be hoping  from the same vote pie. This would give an edge to Omar not only on account of his appeal as an ex-CM but also due to the point that the NC has a cadre base spread throughout  the length of Valley.
The contest on the Baramulla Constituency is going to be very interesting.